2 weeks from hell!!


I seldom if ever get a cold and up till the end of last month this remained true.

Unfortunately 2 weeks ago I happened to be working on a clients house who had the nastiest cold virus I have ever encountered. I’ve had the flu ( genuine article) in the past and while this didn’t put me in bed for a week it did all but incapacitate me for four days. To make matters worse I had to work as well and that didn’t help.

After starting to feel better on day four my wife started to come down with the virus as well as my daughter and daughter in law. My son moved home to finish his studies at a local poly-tech and his good lady has been incapacitated since last Friday.

Unfortunately my wife still smokes ( only 2 or 3 a day now) but the virus has affected her so badly that she is showing signs of bronchitis and we are off to the doctor today.

Needless to say that not a lot has happened here at the blog for a while, and to make matters worse I’m starting a new job this week and we still don’t have the house reorganised for the extra people here now. So make sure if you have the flu virus vaccine available in your health system you get them. While this wasn’t a full blown flu attack its a very good reminder of why you should get the vaccine shot regardless of your current health status.

On a brighter note, over the coming weeks I will be doing a review of the iPad, iPad2 as well as one of the current Samsung smartphones to see how they compare photographically to your HS20 or other Fuji cameras.

Some of the functionality , features and resolution of the iPad has certainly made me want to take a second look at these pieces of technology.

3 thoughts on “2 weeks from hell!!

  1. Hi, Ralph! I hope you’re better.

    I’m from Portugal, the second most beautiful country in the world (the first is New Zealand) and thanks to this fantastic blog, I know better my HS20.

    But there is still much to learn, despite the thousands of pictures taken…

    My greatest difficulty is to focus in low light as in a musical concert.

    I would appreciate some tips on the subject.

    Sorry my “google” english.

    Regards

    Like

    1. Hi Orlando,
      I think the biggest thing with night concerts is deciding at what ISO you wish to shoot at.
      In my series of shots of “ZZ Top” ,( follow this link ) https://picasaweb.google.com/113588280921888334019/ZZTop#

      I shot between 400 and 3200 ISO using the Fuji HS10. Shutter speeds are still low as you can see in the Exif data, so you have to support yourself well.
      I did an article a while back on the concert and if you haven’t seen that then follow this link, its on the old site as I haven’t yet transferred it. http://akiwiretrospective.blogspot.co.nz/2011/04/hs10-and-night-concert.html?utm_source=BP_recent

      I found that using spot metering, and balancing the EV was the best way to go. With the HS20/30 I would start in SN mode, probably ISO 800,spot metering, and use the L 16:9 setting for image size. Set noise reduction to low and use hard or standard sharpening, with color , tone etc set to mid levels. Leave the white balance on Auto, the camera will usually get it right.

      As the shutter speeds will be low you will need some clear space if you can get it or somewhere where you can support the camera.

      In the ZZ Top concert I was about 250 metres from the stage ( in a football stadium) so most of my shots where at 126mm, and I’m happy with the results, most are as crisp as can be expected from the camera and lens at that F ratio (f 5.6).

      Keep us posted as to your results.
      Cheers
      Ralph

      Like

Leave a Reply

