HS50 What HS50?


At the time of writing this there is still no advertised dates as to the arrival of the Fujifilm HS50.

I have been watching the user reports at Dpreview for a few weeks now and to date it seems the HS50 is again going to be a beast that will need taming.

Kim letkeman has done an in-depth review of the HS50. Use the “Nothing Special” link under the Blogs I Follow heading and navigate through the review from his menu list . His finding is that given time the HS50 may well be a very handy shooter. The new lens seems very good and noise is handled well up to ISO 1600. The sensor appears to be optimised for L sized images, which is fine for good light conditions but still needs to be shot in M size when the light levels drop.

The Phase Detect AF is very fast but reverts to contrast detect in low light which isn’t good, as I would like to have seen P.D. AF being used throughout as done in DSLR’s.

This puts us back into the realms of the HS20/30, which struggle in very low light conditions. I had occasion to go to the “Ballooons over the Waikato” to shoot the night glow festival and fireworks display.

I shot 325 images, and binned immediately 175, with a further 50 finding their way to the trash as well. Of the rest I will sort and process the better ones. One of the most important parts of this shoot was the balloons being lit up and set to a music score. The results were woeful. In fact I got one single image that is just possibly useful. The HS20 no matter what settings I used repeatedly failed to find or maintain focus, even with the ISO set at 1600 and +2.0 Ev the camera simply couldn’t focus.

The worry here is that no matter how good the HS50 may be in good to average light, in the dark , as I was last night I seriously doubt that the HS50 would do much better, although it should do somewhat better according to Fuji’s claims. The limitation is the small sensor in the HS series cameras and while the new sensor used in the HS50 is a redesign, you can’t beat physics. An APS sizes sensor is simply going to stomp a 1/2 inch sensor. I was shooting along side a woman with a Canon 550D and a 55-250 lens and time after time the Canon nailed the shot whereas the HS20 wouldn’t even focus.

If you are considering the HS50 and shoot lowlight scenes be careful to get a chance to test this environment, preferably before you by it.

A little earlier in the evening when there was still a good deal of pre-dusk light around I was able to get some useful shots. The aerial display by the Red Checkers air display team was great and I was able to get a few more useful shots, although when checked the camera missed focus repeatedly.

If nothing else last night’s effort was a very good reminder of the limitations of these cameras in adverse conditions. So with all the new changes and larger size, is the HS50 really going to be that much of a step forward in closing the gap to the DSLR market. I seriously doubt it. In fact last night’s disastrous outing was all the prompting I needed to convince me that if I wish for better performance and image quality a DSLR is the way to go.

As a footnote to all this I made a point of watching what others were using to record their images. By far the largest portion were using DSLR’s and I noted a lot of high end compacts, X10’s, X100’s Sony RX1’s and RX 100’s as well as Sony Nex cameras. A good number were using their Ipad’s and Smart phones. One person alongside me was using a GalaxyIII smart phone and getting arguably better images than I was.

If ever I wanted a reason to not buy the HS50 last night was it. For now I will continue with the HS20 but wont be doing any more night shoots and around Xmas time I will most likely buy the Pentax K30 and keep the HS20 as a backup camera, which can double as my wife’s bigger unit.

9 Replies to “HS50 What HS50?”

  1. Hello again,

    You’re right, you can’t beat physics. But Fuji doesn’t seems to realise that and they keep asking a starting price higher than low-end DSLRs.

    In fact, the new HS50 is arround 830NZD same price as 550D + 2 kit lenses. If they will go on this path i’m not sure the Fuji bridge camera line will survive on today’s market.

    Like

    1. I have to agree! But i swing to nikon instead of canon and suppose if they were to revert to AA batteries perhaps they can sell it at a cheaper price? and lots of people will be happier is it not?

      Like

  2. Hi,
    Couldn’t agree more. I’m frustrated that a camera announced in January hasn’t reached Oz or NZ by April. The low light performance of my HS30 is pretty ordinary but given good light the convenience of the long lens in a small package has me often leaving the DSLR at home. Stefan makes a really good point – with Nikon D5100s on end of model prices who would buy an HS50 at the prices that have been flagged? Will I upgrade? I don’t think so – the 30 is doing just fine.

    Like

    1. Yes, same here, the HS20 still has plenty to offer in good light, and for most on the run shooting situations does pretty well. So for now it will stay in the kit.

      The Pentax is a definite though. As Stefan said, I can get far better quality for my dollar at the moment. The pricing for the Fuji bridge cams is exorbitant, in comparison to what else is available. I would have no problem paying for that if the performance were to outstrip the XS1. It doesn’t, and I’m looking for better IQ, as some of my future projects will require top level speed and IQ, and unfortunately the HS series just doesn’t quite deliver this.

      Like

  3. Here in the US, the HS50 is not listed on the Fuji store site yet. It is offered at an online retailer(preorder) for $511 USD. No thanks. I am enjoying my new, 6 months now, Canon T3i (600D) and will not go back. Sorry Fuji.

    Like

    1. Yes I’m heading the same way. Sadly I think Fuji have missed the point with the HS50. More IQ was needed not a longer zoom, even if it is a good lens.

      The XS1 was oh so close to being the great allrounder, all it needed was a revised sensor and Phase Detect AF, and you would have had a entry level DSLR with a fixed lens. So close and yet so far. Had they done this I think I could have lived with the price-tag.

      Like

      1. I think the industry is playing the “mine is longer than yours” game and it is hurting so many good cameras. My biggest complaint with the HS20 was the auto focus at long zooms. With these long zooms you really need a tripod or something to rest on or your photo will be blurred. My best Fuji so far is the S5700, it is still great and I keep it handy!

        Like

  4. i bought a nikon D5200 just a few weeks back because i suspect the HS50 cant perform much better than my hs20 in lowlight (which is what my D5200 will be used for!)…. But do you see the successor to HS50 (HS60/70/80?) being able to focus better in lowlight? What features would u like to see in the successor to the HS50?

    Now that i have a D5200, i still think my hs20 is a great camera because it can shoot in complete silence (silent mode; i use it for street photos of strangers!) and its highly versatile zoom lens! The focusing speed of the D5200 is not that much faster than my HS20 either…

    Like

Leave a Reply

