Waiting for Spring — Photo editing


It’s that time again in early spring where the weather can’t make up its mind what its doing. Four seasons in a day is an apt description.

After a shorter winter than usual I’m itching to get out there and get some nice images of spring, but the weather is still being fickle.

Of course other than waiting for spring I’m still waiting to see an actual HS50 in a store somewhere here in the Waikato. So far its proving to be a non starter. I’m beginning to think that its unlikely I will see one before the new models for the coming year are announced. I’m also not prepared to purchase site unseen from an online retailer as their return to supplier arrangements if I don’t like the product are almost non existent.

All of this is doing even more to convince me that a Pentax DSLR is going to be my next purchase. I have a variety of lenses from my Pentax SLRS that I will use, most are AF lenses and will work with the new Pentax cameras. I have a very nice compact 300 mm lens that on a DSLR will give me 450 mm equivalent, which matches the XS1, but with infinitely better IQ. All going to plan I will be obtaining a new camera close to Xmas or just after.

In the mean time I have been whiling away the time with some editing with Photoscape. We all take images that are pretty ordinary and wonder what made you do so, however with a little PP work and some of the inbuilt filters you change change the look of the image. This allows you to create more intimate or dramatic images from what was initially quite ordinary.

Below is an example of this, I was snapping away testing some settings I hadn’t used for a while with the HS20, the only real things of interest being some Starlings in the tree out back of our house. I took several images at all sorts of focal lengths and settings. A few of which I have kept for no particular reason… until now.

The first image is the original taken in 16:9 format. Below is the PP’ed image cropped and “artistically” altered. The original is quite boring , but I find that the changes I made give a more intimate feel for the birds environment and if nothing else is certainly better than the original. These images were all shot using P mode for the HS20. Below the images is the Exif data from the original image.

The original image is the full sized file from the camera, just save it to your photo folder and experiment with it. I would be happy to post anyone’s results if they wish.

In the image below I went for an old vintage film look to change some of the character. I could also have applied an older film color filter as well but decided I liked the overall feel of the image as it is. Give it a try, you may be surprised what you can do with some of those odd photos you have.

DSCF7362

DSCF7362_filtered

— EXIF —-

Make : FUJIFILM
Model : FinePix HS20EXR
Orientation : Horizontal (normal)
XResolution : 72
YResolution : 72
ResolutionUnit : inches
Software : Digital Camera FinePix HS20EXR Ver1.03
ModifyDate : 2013:08:17 10:06:54
YCbCrPositioning : Co-sited
Copyright :
ExposureTime : 1/320
FNumber : 8.0
ExposureProgram : Program AE
ISO : 400
SensitivityType : Standard Output Sensitivity
ExifVersion : 0230
DateTimeOriginal : 2013:08:17 10:06:54
CreateDate : 2013:08:17 10:06:54
ComponentsConfiguration : Y, Cb, Cr, –
CompressedBitsPerPixel : 3.2
ShutterSpeedValue : 1/333
ApertureValue : 8.0
BrightnessValue : 7.11
ExposureCompensation : +0.33
MaxApertureValue : 2.8
MeteringMode : Spot
LightSource : Unknown
Flash : Off, Did not fire
FocalLength : 126.0 mm
FlashpixVersion : 0100
ColorSpace : sRGB
ExifImageWidth : 4608
ExifImageHeight : 2592
InteropIndex : R98 – DCF basic file (sRGB)
InteropVersion : 0100
FocalPlaneXResolution : 7166
FocalPlaneYResolution : 7166
FocalPlaneResolutionUnit : cm
SensingMethod : One-chip color area
FileSource : Digital Camera
SceneType : Directly photographed
CustomRendered : Normal
ExposureMode : Auto
WhiteBalance : Auto
SceneCaptureType : Standard
SubjectDistanceRange : Unknown
Compression : JPEG (old-style)
Orientation : Horizontal (normal)
XResolution : 72
YResolution : 72
ResolutionUnit : inches
ThumbnailOffset : 1798
ThumbnailLength : 8876
YCbCrPositioning : Co-sited

Leave a Reply

