Annus horribilis … the year so far

A good number of you have no doubt noted a lack of current content here at the “Kiwi” over the first half of the year, brought about by a number of factors.

The workplace accident in February put me out of action for  over 16 weeks and even after 12 weeks of physio rehab I’m still not 100% and it seems I’m unlikely to ever be so again as I’m left with what appears to be permanent muscle damage over my right hip & pelvic area. Its not totally debilitating but does slow me up some days and reduces my ability to undertake  more strenuous hiking trips, plus at the age of 61 I’m dealing with vision issues as well having recently had a cataract removed and currently waiting for my new glasses..

Add to that my funds for new camera gear had to be re-purposed see me without a primary camera and just the ageing HS20 as my mainstay.

All in all not a good start to the year and for the short term it wont get a great deal better.

While I love Fuji cameras and would like to stay with Fuji as a photographic platform, its getting decidedly harder to be convinced that I should and it comes back to the question of what do I what & need photographically.

The first part of that question is answered easily when I look back at the cameras I’ve had previously, which include the HS10, S5700, S1000 ( a real dud ), Kodak Easy Share c340 and a really nice Samsung Digimax 240 ( great photos for a 2MP camera), as well as my current HS20.

So what do all of these cameras have in common? In a word spontaneity. The ability to go anywhere at any time unencumbered by a bag of accessories or lenses. As digital cameras improved both optically and in the sensor technology we were able to have an even more useful tool at our disposal, and the option of having super zoom style cameras as a travel compact style or as a  more traditional looking bridge camera, and for me the bridgecamera was definitely a winner.

The trade offs for these types of cameras were increased sensor noise at higher ISO’s and lower level of detail & clarity at times. That was not to say you couldn’t get some excellent images in terms of detail & resolution, you just needed to know your cameras limitations and work appropriately.

Fast forward to today and what are our choices? Somewhat limited seems to be the answer. I will cover those choices in the coming weeks as my eyesight improves and its easier to see my keyboard ( I cant touch type 😦  )