Not the news I like to see.


This nearly made me choke on my morning toast. Never in the last 15 years would I have thought that DPreview would ever be axed in such a brutal fashion. Watch the video above for the details, suffice to say if you have images up on DPreview like I do you’ve got a couple of weeks or so to retrieve them before they are gone for good. Same goes for the YouTube channel at this point although I hope it remains up at least in the short term.

I started this blog in 2010 when I got my first Fuji bridge camera as a result of conversations with other Fuji bridge camera users on the DPreview forums. It was primarily as a way of providing a record of my photographic endeavors and findings using the Fuji HS series Bridge Cameras. Since then, its grown into a less Fuji centric blog and more into a wider range of photographic and camera gear related findings.

It’s fair to say that over the past 18 months I’ve struggled to continue regular posting, due to retiring, illness and just life in general getting in the way of my photographic journey. One thing through all of that that has been a constant is DPreview, both the website and the YouTube channel.

For many of us that’s going to be a big void to fill in the digital landscape. It’s good to know that Chris & Jordan will be taking their skills, and humour over to PetaPixel to start a new channel for them. I have already subscribed to the new channel. What they have said so far makes me think that this could be even better than their DPreviewTV YouTube channel. One thing’s for sure, I’m happy to boycott any purchases from Amazon.

2 thoughts on “Not the news I like to see.”

  1. Does Amazon own the DP Review platform? I have found it an amazing source of information over the years. Sad that this has happened.

    Like

Have your say.